How I save my funnel chanterelles for the winter.

Image

Funnel chanterelles you can find A LOT!

When I get home I spread them at once on a newspaper.

Image

Next I go through every one of them: Dust off any dirt divide them in two so I can se if there is anyone(!) in the funnel. Spreading on a dry newspaper.

Image

Changing to dry newspapers and stir them so they dry evenly a couple of times every day.

Image

They shrink.

Image

After two days they are normally dry, to be sure I put them in the open oven on the lowest heat for an hour or so,stir them around a couple of times. Watch carefully so they do not burn!

In plastic bags or glass jars I save them the whole year around.

They are delicious to just crumble down in any meat sauce.

And I use them in this delicious soup.

