A blue berry day !

Image

Started with a couple of hours at Skändlaberget (the Skändla mountain)

Image

After the ice age, 5000 years ago, this was an island , people lived here.

All covered in oak forrest!  The oak was used to build houses and ships…until the forrest was devastated!

One hundred years ago spruce and pine was planted.

Image

The reason why I am here! Blue berries.

Image

A frog, we scared each other.

Image

Image

Someone important was buried here about 3000 years ago!

Image

Todays harvest!  I froze half of it…

Image

As I have limited space in my freezer I wanted to try something I read about, drying the berries.

I mashed the berries and spread them out as small cookies.

Left them in the oven at the lowest temperature possible with the oven a little bit open for 24 hours.

Came out as a kind of fruit leather ready to use in my smoothies this winter.

Image

What I read they should be good stored in an air tight container a year.

Image

Blue smoothie:
4 servings

  • In a mixer:
  • 2 cups yoghurt (10% fat)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (40% fat)
  • 4 Tbsp flaxseeds
  • 15 almonds
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • sliced fresh ginger about the size of a walnut (busy mornings I use dry,grounded)
  • the yellow peel of a half lemon or lime
  • 5 pieces of the dried berries (or 1 cup fresh or frozen)
  • 6 ice cubes

Mix everything

I pour 2 glasses for me and my husband, than I add 2 bananas and mix again for the kids.

