My mother- in- laws oven baked omelet with chanterelles.

Image

After a nice walk in the forrest!

I saved the small ones (to grow bigger) at the place I found 14 days ago…thought I could find the place again! But no…

Wandered around for 2 hours but found new spots with the “forrest gold” here and there!

Image

At home I at once spread them out on an old newspaper to dry a little, that makes them easy to brush of, cut away bad parts and divide them in smaller pieces.

Filled a pot, put a lid on, starting to heat up on low, letting the chanterelles let go of the water.

Image

They melt together a lot! I poured the water in the zink, let them sweat a little bit more to dry them as much as possible.

Image

Put what I will not use today on paper for freezing after cooling.

Image

For today I add a half a stick of butter (plenty) and fry the mushrooms until they make “cracking” sounds, add  chopped onion and finally plenty of cream. Leave it on the stove while preparing the omelet.

Image

Stir 6 eggs with 300 ml cream, salt and black pepper.

Pour in a greased pan, bake in oven 400 f/ 200 C 20 minutes.

Switch of the oven, cover the omelet with the chanterelle stew and grated cheese.

Back in the oven until the cheese is melted.

This omelet is delicious with other fillings to.

Sub the chanterelles for mushrooms from a can or meat sauce….

Image

